What Drivers Need To Know About Texas Dwi Laws-zibba

UnCategorized Driving while intoxicated, or DWI, is a serious offense. Texas DWI laws are some of the strictest in the country and carry some of the harshest penalties. Drinking and driving in Texas can have a major and permanent effect on the lives of violators. In Texas, driving under the influence is an offense that can be supported by subjective evidence to make a conviction. This means that evidence used against an individual can be primarily based on just the personal belief of the officer making the arrest. Furthermore, DWI is not just restricted to people who have failed a breath or blood alcohol test. It is possible for a driver to be arrested for suspicion of driving while intoxicated. This is entirely dependent upon the judgment of the officer who observes the driver and the way they are driving. The officer makes the sole determination regarding the driver’s impairment. An officer may or may not conduct field sobriety tests, such as walking a straight line or performing other tasks. If the officer simply smells the odor of alcohol on a driver or finds any form of alcohol in the vehicle, that is also deemed to be cause enough for the suspicion of driving while under the influence. Not only are there stiff penalties for those driving while intoxicated, there are penalties imposed for simply refusing to take a breath or blood test. Refusing to take an alcohol test when stopped will automatically cause a driver’s license to be suspended for six months. A first offense in Texas means facing a fine of as much as $2,000 and spending three days to three months in jail. The driver’s license is normally suspended for as long as a year. The judge will generally add annual fees of between $1,000 and $2,000 for as long as three years in order to maintain a new driver’s license. A second offense .es with fines and penalties that are double those of a first offense. A third offense is considered a third degree felony with a penalty of up to ten years in prison and can carry a fine of up to $10,000. DWI is not just about paying fines. It can cost a person’s job, their credit and otherwise effect them for the rest of their life. A Texas DWI conviction never goes off your record. You have probably already heard the best information about these laws. Do not drink and drive. About the Author: 相关的主题文章: